top of page

What Are Chakras?

There are a plethora of resources out there to help you understand the basics of the Major Chakra system. I say "major" because there are also minor chakras. Together, they comprise a total of about 114 different chakras but most people are familiar with the 7 major chakras. Yet, I want to cover specifically what is meant by chakras and how they function.

It's important to have a discussion about these energy points as they help us understand the inner workings of the body and maintain balance within it.

First of all, our bodies are made of energy and layers of energy. Everything in our universe is radiating energy, from the tallest mountain or the biggest ocean, to the tiniest blade of grass, to each individual cell in our body. All of our cells emit energy in different ways.

There is a system of several different channels located in specific areas of the body through which energy, or Chi (also Prana) “life force”, can flow in and out in a constant stream. These are called the chakras and we all have them.


What do the Chakra's do and how does this system work?

The word chakra means “wheel” in Sanskrit. Essentially, chakra energy spins like a wheel, in a clockwise direction, as it moves the energy of our body out into a field (also known as the aura) around us, and it spins counterclockwise to pull energy from our external world (and the people in it) into our body.

It is the frequency state of our chakras that determines the direction of how our energy will flow as they either draw energy into our body or release it outward.

Since our chakras are energetic, healing our chakras can also be performed on a physical level. The physical body is one of ten energy bodies that lie within our auric field of energy. In essence, you can think of the chakra system as the force that moves within these ten energy bodies. Each energy body is like a layer of clothing and the physical body is just one of the layers.

Whether we realize it or not, many diseases of the physical body are manifestations of deep emotions or past traumas that have not been resolved. The good news is that we all have the potential to heal our bodies--mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually.

For a deeper dive into how to balance each chakra, you can also book a spot in the bi-weekly Reiki Restore Circle Healing. Watch for the next post about the specific functions of each chakra.

39 views0 comments


bottom of page